Hawthorne, Unicorn hair, 11 1/2 inches.

J.K. Rowling’s ‘Pottermore’ was opened earlier this month for thousands of new eager members- myself being one of them.

Within 12 hours I had fully completed the first book and couldn’t help feeling a little miffed when I realised the second book wouldn’t be open for another 7 or 8 months (if the rumours of a Christmas opening are true!).  After all, I was one of the first to hit the website and apply for the Beta testing in September/October and didn’t make the cut. Yet, hundreds of other fans who hadn’t necessarily read all the books (and obviously weren’t as big a fan as me :P) did get to test the website! My housemate was one of these and although he is a fan, he only accessed the website a couple of times before claiming it was ‘’crap’’. As you can imagine, this annoyed me quite a bit. I was the kind of fan who would read and explore everything the site had to offer and here he was saying how boring it was after only going on it a couple of times.

Then in April it finally opened for new members, I was so excited I had managed to complete it in a day reading and exploring EVERYTHING it had to offer (well, minus the Wizard Duelling and Potion making).

So what were my thoughts on it? In short, the basic concept of Pottermore is for fans to visually re-visit all the chapters in the 7 books via scenes in which you can find objects and unlock bonus material. You also answer two small personality quizzes which sort you into a Hogwarts house and give you your own personal wand (my house being Gryffindor and my wand being Hawthorne, 11 and 1/2 inches with Unicorn hair).

Overall I thought the site was great, especially if you’re a rabid fan like me! You get detailed background material (mainly about the characters) which you otherwise wouldn’t get to see. But now with all the books and films done I can’t help thinking that this is going to be something they drag out for years. From what I’ve read they’ll only be opening another book every 6 months to a year! If that’s the case then it could take 3 or 4 years for everything to be unlocked… let’s hope this is just a rumour as I think their members will lose more and more interest every year.

Leave a Reply

