Managing PR – First Post

For my degree in Journalism and Public Relations my course entails a ‘Managing Public Relations’ module which focuses on the way in which PR agencies and in-house teams work, the different roles, how to pick effective teams and just how these companies work overall.

Part of our assessment for this module is based on a pitching and commissioning exercise which we will continue onto next year. But, it also includes a blog which will be regularly updated on the things said in meetings, what we have learned so far and just general details about the module itself.

We were first informed about the assignment last Friday which was 11th November and since then I have met up with my group once. My group includes, Lucy Bingham, Theo Roberts and Kanchan Tooray, and we are Group Three. When out lecturer first told us to get into groups I started to panic, since starting university my confidence has soared but I still get nervous when it comes to meeting new people – it’s something I NEED to work on!

Luckily I’ve known Lucy from the start of university as we’re both doing the same course and although I’ve never spoken to Kanchan she is also doing my course so it made it a little easier. Theo is just a generally nice and welcoming guy. So far I’m very happy with our group.

One of our first seminars for this module was the Belbin Test, it’s based on the Team Role Theory. It’s based on research conducted by Dr Meredith Belbin in the 1970s where she looked at the dynamics of a team. She wanted to ”control the dynamics of teams to discover if – and how – problems could be pre-empted and avoided. As the research progressed, the research revealed that the difference between success and failure for a team was not dependent on factors such as intellect, but more on behaviour”. She began to identify different types of behaviour each of which formed distinct contributions or ‘team roles’.

After taking the test I was identified as a –

  • Plant – ‘The role was so-called because one such individual was “planted” in each team. They tended to be highly creative and good at solving problems in unconventional ways’.

And a …

  • Resource Investigator – ”When the team was at risk of becoming isolated and inwardly-focused, Resource Investigators provided inside knowledge on the opposition and made sure that the team’s idea would carry to the world outside the team”.

At first I was unsure whether to believe in this test..

Firstly, people who are ‘Plants’ are supposed to be genius. I am not a genius. I’m creative yes, but not a genius. So although some things appeared to be true, others didn’t.

Yet when our group met up on Tuesday I noticed that certain elements of the resource investigator were starting to come through. When research was mentioned the first thing I thought was ”I’ll be happy to do all the research”, I was almost excited at the prospect, it’s something Resource Investigator’s should do well.

Our group was quite mixed in general, Lucy was a ‘Team Worker’ and ‘Completer Finisher’ while Theo was a ‘Shaper’ and an ‘Implementer’ with Kanchan being a‘Team Worker’ and ‘Shaper’.

Hopefully in the next few weeks we’ll get to see all the different aspects of our team.

Attached below is a copy of notes made on our first group meeting regarding the basic layout of our brief as well as our multidisciplinary team commissioning…

First meeting notes – Basic Brief Layout

Multidisciplinary Commissioning

Posted in PR

Leave a Reply

